Mathematics professor receives university's Prouty award

  • Austin Mohr headshot
  • Austin Mohr headshot

Austin Mohr, PhD, is this year's recipient of the university's top teaching award, the Margaret J. Prouty Faculty Teaching Award.

The award was established in 1994 by Dr. Margaret Prouty, a 1932 graduate of Nebraska Wesleyan. The award recognizes and rewards a faculty member for the pursuit of excellence in teaching and who has made a distinct difference in the intellectual lives of students. 

"[Dr. Mohr is] caring, patient, down-to-earth, and passionate not only about mathematics, but in his encouragement of students to do their best," said a student nominator. "He is an excellent listener and is always eager to hear students’ questions and input.”

Another nominator said, “He actively works to get all students engaged in the topic by facilitating collaborative work between classmates. [Dr. Mohr] encourages unique and independent growth while providing ample opportunities for students to collaborate.”

Several nominators also mentioned Mohr's growth mindset in his assignments. "[Growth Mindset] is something that I now continuously work toward and a life lesson I am taking with me from college.”

Congratulations on this great achievement, Austin! 

Past recipients of the Prouty Teaching Award include:

  • Molly Fitzke, nursing, 2020-21
  • Kelly Baur, political science, 2019-20
  • Kelly Clancy, political science, 2018-19
  • Jonathan Redding, religion, 2017-18
  • John Spilker, music, 2016-2017
  • Tamra Llewellyn, health and human performance, 2015-2016