2021 Leadership Awards

The students listed below have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, in campus leadership, and in service. Their commitment to their education and to Nebraska Wesleyan University have enriched our campus and demonstrate Nebraska Wesleyan's core values of excellence and community.

Blue Key

Nebraska Wesleyan University’s chapter of Blue Key began in 1920 as a local student honorary called “The Purple Dragon Society.” Seven years later, this group is affiliated with the national Blue Key Honor Society. Blue Key membership is composed of outstanding students with potential for development into active citizens; community leaders; and loyal, informed alumni. Juniors and seniors are selected by current Blue Key members based on their achievements in academics, extracurricular activities, leadership and service to their communities

Lily Aberle Spencer Anderson Tyler Auman
Kennedy Berreckman Alyssa Chapman Alexis Hergott
Maggie Hogan Han Le Michaela Maahs
Paige Ravenscroft Peyton Rhode Douglas Shinner
Jordan Smith Livia Wilhelm Sienna Woo

Student Life Leadership Award

Selection for the Student Life Leadership Award is based upon senior students’ scholarship, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service to Nebraska Wesleyan and potential for future achievement. A committee of faculty, administrators and students discusses each student’s qualifications. Students selected represent a wide range of academic disciplines and extracurricular endeavors.

Ellie Martinez Ciara Eichorst Aspen Rolfes
Leah Treffer Kevin Tims Nana Abenaa Wright
Zeke Rouse* Payton Swanson Gradyn Kershner
Suzanne McDonald Olivia Groeteke Alycin Braun
Madeline Almond Cera Craven* Konpal Rafique
Dallas Jones* Morgan Lowery Kendra Mullins*
Ruth Njuguna Sheridan Parker Viveca Power
Samantha Redfern Samantha Slizoski Hyeonju Wang
Caitlin Broekemeier Morgan Ellison Bradley Ernesti*
Rebekah Sterken Zachary Schwindt* Rubi Vega
Benjamin Gephart Juniors: Reagan Janzen Said Mendez

*Students previously inducted into either Blue Key or Cardinal Key

Kenneth R. Holder Memorial Award

Dr. Kenneth R. Holder made many significant contributions to student development and learning as Professor of English and Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University. As a tribute to him through his courageous four-year battle with cancer, Student Life established this award to be presented to a graduating senior who has overcome significant challenges in attaining a baccalaureate degree at Nebraska Wesleyan University.

Nathan Fleming

Dean B. Stewart Award for Courage

The Dean Stewart Award for Courage is presented to a student, staff or faculty member who has displayed remarkable courage in the face of overwhelming odds or barriers. The award is named for Dean Stewart, a Nebraska Wesleyan alumnus and Phi Kappa Tau member. The recipient of this award demonstrates that courage is not the absence of fear, but it is doing what must be done in its presence.

Nelo Nducuia