2021 Student Life Leadership Awards

The students listed below have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, in campus leadership, and in service. Their commitment to their education and to Nebraska Wesleyan University have enriched our campus and demonstrate Nebraska Wesleyan's core values of excellence and community.

Blue Key

Nebraska Wesleyan University's chapter of Blue Key began in 1920 as a local senior honorary for men called "The Purple Dragon Society." Seven years later, this group affiliated with the national Blue Key honor fraternity. Blue Key membership is composed of outstanding male students with potential for development into active citizens; community leaders; and loyal, informed alumni. Juniors and seniors are selected by current Blue Key members based on their achievements in extracurricular activities, leadership and service to their communities. Candidates must rank in the upper 35 percent of their class.

Lily Aberle	Spencer Anderson	Tyler Auman
Kennedy Berreckman	Alyssa Chapman	Alexis Hergott
Maggie Hogan	Han Le	Michaela Maahs
Paige Ravenscroft	Peyton Rhode	Douglas Shinner
Jordan Smith	Livia Wilhelm	Sienna Woo

Cardinal Key

Cardinal Key National Honor Society is an organization made up of women attending American universities and colleges who are of junior standing with a 3.50 GPA. Students are selected for membership in Cardinal Key by current members based on an application that describes the extent of involvement and accomplishment in the university community and personal qualities of leadership and service to college and community. The Nebraska Wesleyan University chapter of Cardinal Key was established in 1948 and consolidated with Blue Key in 2021.

Student Life Leadership Award

Selection for the Student Life Leadership Award is based upon senior students' scholarship, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service to Nebraska Wesleyan and potential for future achievement. A committee of faculty, administrators and students discusses each student's qualifications. Students selected represent a wide range of academic disciplines and extracurricular endeavors.

Ellie Martinez	Ciara Eichorst	Aspen Rolfes	
Leah Treffer	Kevin Tims	Nana Abenaa Wright	
Zeke Rouse*	Payton Swanson	Gradyn Kershner	
Suzanne McDonald	Olivia Groeteke	Alycin Braun	

Madeline Almond	Cera Craven*	Konpal Rafique
Dallas Jones*	Morgan Lowery	Kendra Mullins*
Ruth Njuguna	Sheridan Parker	Viveca Power
Samantha Redfern	Samantha Slizoski	Hyeonju Wang
Caitlin Broekemeier	Morgan Ellison	Bradley Ernesti*
Rebekah Sterken	Zachary Schwindt*	Rubi Vega
Benjamin Gephart	Juniors: Reagan Janzen	Said Mendez

^{*}Students previously inducted into either Blue Key or Cardinal Key

Kenneth R. Holder Memorial Award

Dr. Kenneth R. Holder made many significant contributions to student development and learning as Professor of English and Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University. As a tribute to him through his courageous four-year battle with cancer, Student Life established this award to be presented to a graduating senior who has overcome significant challenges in attaining a baccalaureate degree at Nebraska Wesleyan University.

Nathan Fleming

Dean B. Stewart Award for Courage

The Dean Stewart Award for Courage is presented to a student, staff or faculty member who has displayed remarkable courage in the face of overwhelming odds or barriers. The award is named for Dean Stewart, a Nebraska Wesleyan alumnus and Phi Kappa Tau member. The recipient of this award demonstrates that courage is not the absence of fear, but it is doing what must be done in its presence.

Nelo Nducuia