Health & Human Performance Professor Named University's Prouty Winner

Tamra Llewellyn, this year's Prouty Award winner, was praised by her students for her passion and genuine interest in their career goals.

A Nebraska Wesleyan University Health and Human Performance professor who students say is “a blessing to learn alongside” has been named the 2016 Margaret J. Prouty Teaching Award winner.

Tamra Llewellyn has taught health and human performance at Nebraska Wesleyan since 2013. In nominating Llewellyn, students celebrated her passion they experience everyday in the classroom, and shared their appreciation for her genuine interest in their career goals.

The Prouty Award, which was established by Margaret J. Prouty (’32), recognizes and rewards faculty for the pursuit of excellence in teaching and honors a professor who has made a distinct difference in the lives of students. Students, faculty and staff can submit nominations each spring.

In addition to her work in the classroom, Llewellyn advises the Health and Human Performance Club. This year she formed a panel of students who have applied to graduate programs and internships to inform new students of the necessary steps in the application process.

“I would not have been as successful as I have been at Nebraska Wesleyan without Dr. Llewellyn,” said one student nominator. “She, without a doubt, has the students’ best interests at heart and will do anything and everything to help ensure our success.”

Others nominated for this year’s award include Kelly Bauer (political science), Steve Hegemann (accounting), Cindy Marolf (biology), John Spilker (music) and Susan Wortmann (sociology).

Previous winners include:

  • Angela McKinney, biology, 2014-2015
  • David Gracie, art, 2013-2014
  • Garry Duncan, biology, 2012-2013
  • Patty Hawk, communication studies, 2011-2012
  • Rita Lester, religion, 2010-2011