2020 Leadership Awards

The students listed below have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, in campus leadership, and in service. Their commitment to their education and to Nebraska Wesleyan University have enriched our campus and demonstrate Nebraska Wesleyan's core values of excellence and community.

Blue Key

Nebraska Wesleyan University’s chapter of Blue Key began in 1920 as a local senior honorary for men called “The Purple Dragon Society.” Seven years later, this group affiliated with the national Blue Key honor fraternity. Blue Key membership is composed of outstanding male students with potential for development into active citizens; community leaders; and loyal, informed alumni. Juniors and seniors are selected by current Blue Key members based on their achievements in extracurricular activities, leadership and service to their communities. Candidates must rank in the upper 35 percent of their class.

Preston Decker Dallas Jones Ben Schulz
Jack Easley Alex Kubik Zach Schwindt
Colby Ensz Jacob Marshall Hunter Smith
Brad Ernesti Nolan Reid  
Christian Hall Zeke Rouse  


Cardinal Key

Cardinal Key National Honor Society is an organization made up of women attending American universities and colleges who are of junior standing with a 3.50 GPA. Students are selected for membership in Cardinal Key by current members based on an application that describes the extent of involvement and accomplishment in the university community and personal qualities of leadership and service to college and community. The Nebraska Wesleyan University chapter of Cardinal Key was established in 1948.

Andrea Bennetts Han Le Sam Slizoski
Morgan Bletscher Kendra Mullins Bailey St. Clair
Iyleigh Boden MacKenzy Navratil Emmalynn Walvoord
Cera Craven Kyla Nitzel Macey Wiebe
Andreana Cuka Elizabeth Rivera Sienna Woo


Student Life Leadership Award

Selection for the Student Life Leadership Award is based upon senior students’ scholarship, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service to Nebraska Wesleyan and potential for future achievement. A committee of faculty, administrators and students discusses each student’s qualifications. Students selected represent a wide range of academic disciplines and extracurricular endeavors.

Anthony Baker Audrey Kuehn* Morgan Shipley*
Jacob Barrett* Abigail McCubbin* Samuel Trofholz
Megan Carraher Maudine Melcher Makinzie Vandewege*
Jonathan Curti* Christine Olson Paige Wergin
McKenna Griess* Austin Ragland* Samantha Wright
Braly Keller* Emily Sandal  

*Students previously inducted into either Blue Key or Cardinal Key


Kenneth R. Holder Memorial Award

Dr. Kenneth R. Holder made many significant contributions to student development and learning as Professor of English and Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University. As a tribute to him through his courageous four-year battle with cancer, Student Life established this award to be presented to a graduating senior who has overcome significant challenges in attaining a baccalaureate degree at Nebraska Wesleyan University.

Connor Standridge


Dean B. Stewart Award for Courage

The Dean Stewart Award for Courage is presented to a student, staff or faculty member who has displayed remarkable courage in the face of overwhelming odds or barriers. The award is named for Dean Stewart, a Nebraska Wesleyan alumnus and Phi Kappa Tau member. The recipient of this award demonstrates that courage is not the absence of fear, but it is doing what must be done in its presence.

Tecla Nyamakope