Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is the governing body of Nebraska Wesleyan University. It establishes general, academic and financial policies and appoints and oversees the university president.

Members include Board-elected directors, the university president, two student-elected members, two faculty-elected members, the bishop of the United Methodist Church having jurisdiction over Lincoln, Neb., and the president of the Nebraska Wesleyan University Alumni Association.

E. Susan Gourley, Ph.D., University of Oregon; M.Ed., B.S., Oregon State University | Chair of the Board and Chair, Executive Committee | Superintendent (retired), Lincoln Public Schools, Ruston, Washington

Hon. John M. Gerrard ’76 | L.H.D., B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University; J.D., Pacific McGeorge School of Law; M.P.A., University of Arizona | Vice Chair and Chair, Committee on Board Affairs | U.S. District Court Judge, U.S. District Court-District of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska

Kim S. Moore ’90 | M.S.N., Clarkson College; B.S.N., Nebraska Wesleyan University; R.N., Bryan School of Nursing | Secretary of the Board | President and CEO (retired), CHI Health St. Elizabeth, Lincoln, Nebraska

L. G. Searcey, M.B.A., B.A., University of Nebraska-Lincoln | Treasurer of the Board and Chair, Finance and Audit Committee | Senior Vice President, Commercial Loans, Union Bank & Trust Company, Lincoln, Nebraska

Julie M. Anderson ’97 | M.B.A., Duke University; M.P.P., University of Chicago; B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Principal, AG Strategy Group, Bethesda, Maryland

Rev. Chad Anglemyer, M.Div., Iliff School of Theology; B.A., Southwestern College | Missouri River District Superintendent, Great Plains Conference United Methodist Church, Plattsmouth, Nebraska

Robert F. Bartle ’72 | J.D., University of Nebraska College of Law; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Attorney, Bartle & Geier, Lincoln, Nebraska

Scott Brewer ’01 | B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Treasurer and Director of Administration, Great Plains United Methodist Conference, Topeka, Kansas

Steven K. Brugman ’89 | M.B.A., Duke University; B.S. Nebraska Wesleyan University | Account Executive, Oracle Corporation, Franklin, Tennessee

Kevin E. Cook ’86 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Partner, BKD, LLP, Kansas City, Missouri

D. Todd Duncan ’88 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Chairman, Duncan Aviation, Lincoln, Nebraska

Elizabeth Gajardo, Student, Class of 2020 | Nebraska Wesleyan University

Richard W. Galyen, B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln | co-founder, Nakota LLC, Atkinson, Nebraska

Daphne Hall ’92 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Senior Vice President, College Access Programs, EducationQuest Foundation, Lincoln, Nebraska

David G. Hansen ’77 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Partner/CEO, Swanson Russell, Lincoln, Nebraska

Patricia Hawk, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln; M.A., Doane University; B.A., Chadron State College | Associate Professor of Communication Studies, Nebraska Wesleyan University

Stephanie Howland-Moline ’82 | Executive Degree, University of Virginia Darden School of Business; B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Executive Vice President, First National Bank of Omaha, Omaha, Nebraska

L. Bradley Hurrell ’73 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Partner (retired), KPMG, Charlotte, North Carolina

Susan Keisler-Munro ’85 | M.S., University of Nebraska; B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Senior Vice President, Chief of Operations, Assurity Life Insurance Company, Lincoln, Nebraska

Beverly Maurer, B.A., Brooklyn College | Community Volunteer, Omaha, Nebraska

Lawrence C. Mohr, Sc.D., Nebraska Wesleyan University; M.D., A.B., University of North Carolina | Distinguished University Professor, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, South Carolina

Diane Nelson, B.A., Creighton University | Community Volunteer, Omaha, Nebraska

Frederik Ohles, Ph.D., M.A., Brandeis University; B.A., Carleton College | President, Nebraska Wesleyan University

Rachel Pokora, Ph.D., M.A., Purdue University; B.A., Michigan State University; A.A., Grand Rapids Junior College | Professor of Communication, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Lincoln, Nebraska

Katelyn Richerson, Student, Class of 2019 | Nebraska Wesleyan University

Bishop Ruben Saenz, Jr., D.Min., M.Th., Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University; B.S., Stephen F. Austin State University | Bishop, Great Plains Area United Methodist Church, Wichita, Kansas

Mark A. Schulze ’88 | M.B.A., University of Texas at Austin; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Vice President-Operations Support, BNSF Railway, Argyle, Texas

Jeff Schumacher, J.D., University of Nebraska College of Law; B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln | President, Capitol Casualty Co., Lincoln, Nebraska

Suzanne Sughroue ’02 | M.B.A., B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University; A.A.S., Southeast Community College | Director of Development, Madonna Foundation, Lincoln, Nebraska

Cori Vokoun, B.A., Princeton University | Vice President, Sampson Construction, Lincoln, Nebraska

Mark Walz ’88 | B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Chairman, President and CEO, Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska

Bill White, M.S., B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln | President, The Austin Company, Inc., Milford, Nebraska

Governors Emeriti

B. Keith Heuermann, Sc.D., Nebraska Wesleyan University; B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln | Founder (retired), BKH Popcorn, Phillips, Nebraska

Gordon M. Hull ’59 | J.D., University of Nebraska College of Law; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | President and CEO, Tasty-Toppings, Inc., Columbus, Nebraska

James R. Kruse ’67 | J.D., George Washington University; B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Partner, Michael Best & Friedrich, Salt Lake City, Utah

Angie Muhleisen ’81 | LL.D., Nebraska Wesleyan University; B.S., Avila University | Chairman, Union Bank & Trust Company, Lincoln, Nebraska

Lindy Mullin ’67 | Ed.D., M.Ed., University of Nebraska; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Educator (retired), Lincoln Public Schools, Lincoln, Nebraska

Richard A. Peterson ’59 | J.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Senior Counsel (retired), Crete Carrier Corporation, Lincoln, Nebraska

Larry L. Ruth ’67 | LL.D., B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University; J.D., George Washington University | Attorney (retired), Walton, Nebraska

F. Thomas Waring 53 | M.D., University of Nebraska Medical Center; B.A., Nebraska Wesleyan University | Physician (retired), Fremont, Nebraska