Contact or visit us

English Department
Stephanie Loos, Staff Assistant
Old Main, Room 102
Lincoln, NE 68504
(402) 465-2343
sloos [at] (sloos[at]nebrwesleyan[dot]edu)

William C. Kloefkorn Nebraska Writers Series

The William C. Kloefkorn Nebraska Writers Series was established through a generous donation from Ruth Meyer, Ph.D. Ruth graduated from Nebraska Wesleyan University in 1964 with a degree in English. She greatly valued her Nebraska Wesleyan education and specifically the mentoring role Bill Kloefkorn played in her life. This reading series honors the memory of William “Bill” Kloefkorn, who taught literature and writing at Nebraska Wesleyan until his retirement in 1997. Kloefkorn served as the State Poet of Nebraska from 1982 to the time of his death in 2011.

The William C. Kloefkorn Nebraska Writers Series is intended to highlight the wide variety of writing and writers connected to Nebraska. Writers invited to speak for the William C. Kloefkorn Nebraska Writers Series will have one of the following characteristics.

  • Born in Nebraska
  • Reared in Nebraska
  • Currently living in Nebraska
  • Writes about Nebraska

All readings are free and open to the public.

Past Kloefkorn Nebraska Writers

Year Writers
2022 Saddiq Dzukogi
Lisa Fay Coutley
Timothy Schaffert
2021 Jeff Alessandrelli
Hope Wabuke
2020 David Philip Mullins
Ruth Williams
2018 Robert Fernandez
2017 Kenneth Keith
John Walker
2016 Marjorie Saiser
2015 David Lee
2014 Twila Hansen