Men's Basketball Team Lifts NWU's Story Award

Roy G. Story Award Winner: Men's Basketball
Roy G. Story Award Winner: Men's Basketball
Deion Wells-Ross, the co-caption of the national champion men's basketball team, brings the trophy home to Snyder Arena during a pep rally held on March 19. The team lifted another trophy of sorts on August 17 when they were awarded the university's Roy G. Story Award.
The national champion men's basketball team was honored on August 17 with the university's Roy G. Story Award for significantly enhancing the national stature of Nebraska Wesleyan University.

The accolades keep coming for Nebraska Wesleyan University’s NCAA III national champion men’s basketball team. On August 17, Coach Dale Wellmanand team co-captain Deion Wells-Ross (’18) accepted Nebraska Wesleyan University’s Roy G. Story Award on behalf of the entire men’s basketball program. The team was honored at a ceremony as part of the school’s annual University Dinner at Lincoln’s Hillcrest Country Club.

Established in 1989, the Story Award recognizes individuals and groups “whose accomplishments have significantly enhanced the national stature of Nebraska Wesleyan University.”

Said President Fred Ohles,“The success of the basketball team this year is truly something special. It’s wonderful for Nebraska Wesleyan to be able to honor the coaching staff and student-athletes for their national-caliber achievement in this way.”

The award honors the legacy of Roy G. Story who graduated from NWU in 1919 and went on to a long, successful career with Texaco and Swift & Company, where he patented 50 inventions. The award is an enduring legacy of Story’s creativity and the value of the liberal arts education he received at NWU.

Previous Story Award winners include:

  • 2016-2017 — Judy Muskens
  • 2015-2016 — Trey Bardsley
  • 2014-2015  — Harry & Reba Huge Foundation
  • 2013-2014 — Dr. William A. Wyman
  • 2012-2013 — Archway Curriculum Process Team
  • 2011-1212 — Global Service Learning (student organization)