Visiting Writers Series

Nebraska Wesleyan University's Visiting Writers Series brings prominent national and international writers to campus. In addition to giving public readings, our visiting writers meet with students to discuss the craft of writing. The mission of this series remains the promotion of literary experiences with contemporary writers meant to enliven and to educate young writers here at NWU.

All readings are free and open to the public.


Traci Brimhall (Poet)

Thursday, September 20, 2018
6 p.m.
Callen Conference Center

Carolyn Hembree portraitTraci Brimhall is the author of three collections of poetry: Saudade (Copper Canyon, 2017); Our Lady of the Ruins (2012), winner of the Barnard Women Poets Prize; and Rookery (2010), winner of the Crab Orchard First Book Award in Poetry. Her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, American Poetry Review, The New Republic, Poetry and Best American Poetry 2013 and 2014. A recipient of a fellowship from the National Endowment of the Arts, she is currently an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Kansas State University.


Lisa Wells (Poet)

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
6 p.m.
Cochrane-Woods Library Learning Commons

Lisa Wells portraitLisa Wells is the author of, The Fix, winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize, and a book of nonfiction, Believers, forthcoming from Farrar, Straus & Giroux. Her work can be found in Harper’s Magazine, Granta, The Believer, N+1, Best New Poets, The Iowa Review and elsewhere. She currently lives in Seattle where she edits a poetry journal, The Volta, and a small press called Letter Machine Editions.


Jamel Brinkley (Author)

Thursday, November 8, 2018
8:30 p.m.
Callen Conference Center

Jamel Brinkley portraitJamel Brinkley is the author of A Lucky Man: Stories (Graywolf Press/A Public Space Books). His fiction has appeared, or is forthcoming, in The Best American Short Stories 2018, A Public Space, Ploughshares, Gulf Coast, The Threepenny Review, Glimmer Train, American Short Fiction, Epiphany, and LitMag. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he was also the 2016-17 Carol Houck Smith Fiction Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. His work has received support from Kimbilio Fiction, the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference, the Tin House Summer Workshop, and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. Beginning this fall, he will be a 2018-2020 Wallace Stegner Fellow in Fiction at Stanford University.


Past Visiting Writers

Year Writers
Spring 2018 Carolyn Hembree
Sandy Longhorn
Julie Schumacher
Robyn Schiff
Nick Twemlow
Fall 2017 Cole Swensen
Carol Guess
Spring 2017 Brenda Shaughnessy
Brian Blanchfield
Fall 2016 Peter Gizzi
Claudia Rankine
Lucy Ives
Spring 2016 Porochista Khakpour
Michael Knight
Shane McCrae
Fall 2015 Dagoberto Gilb
J.D. Schraffenberger
Kit Yan
Spring 2015 Sarah Braunstein
Erik Campbell
Robert Fernandez
Mary Hickman
Amaud Jamaul Johnson
Bradford Tice
Fall 2014 Mark Jay Brewin, Jr.
Travis Mossotti
David James Poissant
Christine Sneed
Spring 2014 Trey Moody
Joshua Robbins
Mary Helen Stefaniak
Fall 2013 Tricia Currans-Sheehan
Jeanne Emmons
Kristi Maxwell
Bradford Tice
Laura van den Berg
Spring 2013 Oni Buchanan
Charlotte Pence
Adam Prince
John Walker
Jon Woodward
Fall 2012 Chi Tak Chan
Chun Ying Lin
Caryl Pagel
Lysley Tenorio
Stephanie Ye
Spring 2012 Suzanne Buffam
Jennifer S. Davis
David Philip Mullins
Srikanth Reddy
Fall 2011 Margaret Lazarus Dean
Hye-Kyung Lee
Dorothy Tse
Susan Wheeler
Yueran Zhang
Spring 2011 Jessica Savitz
Willy Vlautin
Fall 2010 Meg Kearney
Ed Roberson
Robert Wrigley
Spring 2010 Arthur Smith
Hannah Tinti
Fall 2009 Marcia Douglas
John McManus
Spring 2009 Mary Jo Bang
Brian Evenson
Sheila Heti
Gary Lutz
Fall 2008 Joanna Klink
Timothy Liu
Spring 2008 Chris Bachelder
William Henry Lewis
Ben Marcus
Selah Saterstrom
Fall 2007 Erik Campbell
Graham Foust
Christian Hawkey
Harryette Mullen
Sawako Nakayasu
Spring 2007 Cary Holladay
Josip Novakovich
Julie Orringer
Bapsi Sidhwa
Fall 2006 Grace Bauer
Anthony Hawley
Jeffrey McDaniel
Robyn Schiff
Spring 2006 Chris Offutt
Z.Z. Packer
Fall 2005 John D’Agata
Denise Duhamel
Dean Young

Contact or visit us

English Department
Stephanie Loos, Staff Assistant
Old Main, Room 102
Lincoln, NE 68504
(402) 465-2343
sloos [at]