Wesleyan Theatre Opens Spring Season With "Taming of the Shrew" and "The Tamer Tamed"

Nebraska Wesleyan University will open its spring theatre season this month with two productions: a Shakespeare classic and its sequel.

William Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew will open January 21 and continue for two consecutive weekends. Taming of the Shrew is a comedy that depicts the courtship between Petruchio and Kate, a headstrong, obdurate shrew. Initially Kate is an unwilling participant in the relationship but Petruchio tempts her with various psychological torments until she is an obedient bride.

On alternate nights, Nebraska Wesleyan will perform The Tamer Tamed, a sequel to the Taming of the Shrew. In this sequel, Kate has died and Petruchio is about to be remarried. His fiancé, Maria, is a sweet, mild-tempered girl, who is prepared to tame the tamer. This production will feature professional guest director Jason King Jones.

Performances for Taming of the Shrew will be held January 21, 23, 29 and 31 at 7:30 p.m. and on January 24 and 30 at 2 p.m. Performances for The Tamer Tamed will be held January 22, 24, 28 and 30 at 7:30 p.m. and on January 23 and 31 at 2 p.m. All shows will be held in McDonald Theatre, located at 51st Street and Huntington Ave.

Admission is $10 for adults, $7.50 for students 12-18 years and senior citizens, and $5 for children under 12 years. To reserve tickets, call the box office at 402.465.2384.

The following is a cast list for Taming of the Shrew and The Tamer Tamed:

Bellevue:Zach Splittgerber

Bridgeport: Nick Myers

Clarkson: Beth Clausen

Columbus: Tim Andersen

Daykin: Jill Meyer

Fairbury: Libby Lutze

Gering: Kiel Walker

Lincoln: Maya Naff, Sydney Ray

North Platte: Whitney Mueller

Prague: Jen Wiederspan

Payson, Arizona: Christopher Bott

Grinnell, Iowa: Ben Stewart

Overland Park, Kansas: Caroline Vuchetich

Kirkwood, Mo.: James Hesse

Edina, Minn.: Kelly Houlehan

Houston, Texas: Jenna Mark

Menomonee Falls, Wis.: Kaitlin Klemencic

Mequon, Wis.: Cristiana Barbatelli

Milwaukee, Wis.: Sherrick Robinson, John Gleason Teske

Wauwatosa, Wis.: Patrick O’Hare

Whitefish Bay, Wis.: Thom Cauley, Sam Kishline