Elder Gallery Exhibit: "I Am Because We Are: African Wisdom in Image and Proverb"

Friday, September 7, 2012
Saturday, September 8, 2012
Sunday, September 9, 2012
Monday, September 10, 2012
Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Wednesday, September 12, 2012
Thursday, September 13, 2012
Friday, September 14, 2012
Saturday, September 15, 2012
Sunday, September 16, 2012
Monday, September 17, 2012
Tuesday, September 18, 2012
Wednesday, September 19, 2012
Thursday, September 20, 2012
Friday, September 21, 2012
Saturday, September 22, 2012
Sunday, September 23, 2012
Monday, September 24, 2012
Tuesday, September 25, 2012
Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Thursday, September 27, 2012
Friday, September 28, 2012
Saturday, September 29, 2012
Sunday, September 30, 2012
Monday, October 1, 2012
Tuesday, October 2, 2012
Wednesday, October 3, 2012
Thursday, October 4, 2012
Friday, October 5, 2012
Saturday, October 6, 2012
Sunday, October 7, 2012
Monday, October 8, 2012
Tuesday, October 9, 2012
Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Thursday, October 11, 2012
Friday, October 12, 2012
Saturday, October 13, 2012
Sunday, October 14, 2012
Monday, October 15, 2012
Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Wednesday, October 17, 2012
Thursday, October 18, 2012
Friday, October 19, 2012
Saturday, October 20, 2012
Sunday, October 21, 2012
Location: 
Elder Gallery

See the people and places of Africa through the lens of Nebraska Wesleyan University alumna Betty Press.

Press is best known for her photographs taken in Africa when she lived and worked in Kenya as a freelance photojournalist. Now living in Hattiesburg, Miss., where she is an adjunct professor of photography at the University of Southern Mississippi, Press photographs the South as well as Mexico, Central America, Cuba, and Africa.

Press’ exhibition at Nebraska Wesleyan University is titled, “I Am Because We Are: African Wisdom in Image and Proverb,” which is also the title of her first photobook. For this project she was named the recipient of the 2012 Mississippi Institute of Arts & Letters Award in photography.

The exhibit runs September 7 to October 21. An opening reception will be held Friday, September 7 from 4:30-7 p.m. in Elder Gallery, located in the Rogers Center for Fine Arts, 50th Street and Huntington Ave.

Press will be at Nebraska Wesleyan University on Thursday, September 20 as part of the university’s 125th anniversary kickoff. She will give a gallery talk and hold a book signing at 3:30 p.m. in Elder Gallery.

Elder Gallery hours are Tuesday-Friday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 1 to 4 p.m. The gallery is closed on Mondays. The exhibit is free and open to the public.