Class of 2010 joins ranks of proud alumni

NWU’s 121st commencement was a shining success.

NWU Commencement 2010Nebraska Wesleyan University awarded degrees to nearly 430 undergraduate and graduate students during its 121st annual commencement held Saturday, May 15.

Joan McClurg Hall (’61), a Chicago attorney and cofounder of the Young Women’s Leadership Charter School of Chicago, the city’s only public all-girls school, gave the commencement address.

Honorary degrees were presented to Rev. Cecil C. Bliss (’56), a retired pastor of St. Mark’s United Methodist Church in Lincoln, and former Congressman Doug Bereuter, president and CEO of The Asia Foundation.

Eleven students were awarded the Gold Key Award for maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average during their college careers. Those students were Evan Janzen and Derek Werner, both of Aurora; Danielle Virts, Kirsten Foster, Meghen Friesen and Shannon Kingery, all of Lincoln; Travis Johnson of Milford; Zachary Woodward of Minden; Brian Copley of Syracuse; Emily Bruflat of Wayne; and Jaclyn Smith of Huxtun, Colo. Two students received the Silver Key Award for maintaining a 3.99 grade point average during their college careers. The Silver Key honorees were Edie Anderzhon of Shenandoah, Iowa, and Christopher Anderson of Plattsmouth.

Graduating seniors left their mark on the university through more than their GPAs. They raised $1,160 for future campus needs.