Alumni Lend-A-Hand

Nebraska Wesleyan first year students have been volunteering their time to Lend-a-Hand to Lincoln for 15+ years. We want to extend that tradition to you as an alum by offering an opportunity to gather with other Nebraska Wesleyan alumni in your area to serve communities where you live!

Lend-a-Hand is a celebration of neighbors helping neighbors with a common mission of addressing the nation’s needs.

Join the national NWU Lend-a-Hand event to become an active, engaged citizen in your community. By donating your time, you can connect with old friends and make new ones! By lending a hand, you have the power to do something to improve the lives of others.

To hold a Lend-a-Hand event in your community on September 6:

  1. Find a non-profit organization where you would like to volunteer. Here are some sites to help get you started.
  2. Contact rhadley@nebrwesleyan.edu to request a list of alumni in your area and to provide your information and volunteer site so that we can share it on social media.
  3. Provide rhadley@nebrwesleyan.edu a list of alumni/families that will be volunteering along with their shirt sizes so that we can provide t-shirts for volunteers.
  4. After your event, post pictures to the NWU Alumni Facebook page.
  5. Contact rhadley@nebrwesleyan.edu with a list of everyone who participated.

Cities that signed up to participate this year:

Chicago
Saturday, September 6, 8 a.m.-1 p.m.
Serving the Norwood Park Historical Society
Hosts are Audra Duren ’10, audraduren@gmail.com and Alyssa Fiala ’10, Alyssa.fiala@gmail.com
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/Lend-a-Hand-Chicago to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

Dallas/Ft. Worth
Saturday, September 6, 9 a.m.-1 p.m.
Serving the Tarrant Area Food Bank
Host is Jodi (Wiatt) Gould ’89, Jodi.Gould@transamerica.com.
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/LendaHandDallas-FtWorth to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

Kansas City
Saturday, September 6, 8 a.m.-1 p.m.
Serving Sleepyhead Beds
Host is Jenna Rhodes ’11, jenna.rhodes@sbdinc.com
RSVP by August 22 to www.surveymonkey.com/s/LendaHandKC to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

Lincoln
Saturday, September 6, 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m.
Serving Nebraska Wesleyan University
Host is Tyler Richard ’07, tyler@tylerrichard.com
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/LAHLincoln to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

New York City
Saturday, September 6, 3:30-7:30 p.m.
Serving New York Rescue City Mission
Hosts are Karlene Grinberg, g.karlene@gmail.com and Adam Cerny ‘07, ACerny@giltcity.com
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/Lend-a-HandNYC to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

Omaha
Saturday, September 6, 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Serving Timberlake Open Door Mission
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/LendaHandOmaha to be guaranteed a t-shirt.

Washington DC
Saturday, September 6, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Serving Café Capitol Hill United Methodist Church
Hosts are Jacob Dowd ’07, dowd.jacob@gmail.com, Austin Pedersen ’09, austinpedersen@gmail.com and Erin Duncan ’96, erin.m.duncan@gmail.com
RSVP by August 22 at www.surveymonkey.com/s/LendaHandDC to be guaranteed a t-shirt.