Visiting Writers Series

Nebraska Wesleyan University's Visiting Writers Series brings prominent national and international writers to campus. In addition to giving public readings, our visiting writers meet with students to discuss the craft of writing. The mission of this series remains the promotion of literary experiences with contemporary writers meant to enliven and to educate young writers here at NWU.

All readings are free and open to the public.

David James Poissant

David James Poissant (fiction writer)

Tuesday, September 23, 2014, 6 p.m.
Elder Gallery, Vance D. Rogers Center for Fine Arts

David James Poissant is the author of The Heaven of Animals: Stories (Simon & Schuster, 2014). His work has appeared in The Atlantic, The Chicago Tribune, Glimmer Train, The New York Times, One Story, Playboy, Ploughshares, The Southern Review, and in the New Stories from the South and Best New American Voices anthologies. He teaches in the MFA program at the University of Central Florida and lives in Orlando with his wife and daughters.


Travis Mossotti

Travis Mossotti (poet) and Mark Jay Brewin, Jr. (poet)

Thursday, October 16, 2014, 6 p.m.
Elder Gallery, Vance D. Rogers Center for Fine Arts
Travis Mossotti was awarded the 2011 May Swenson Poetry Award by contest judge Garrison Keillor for his first collection of poems, About the Dead (USU Press, 2011), and his chapbook My Life as an Island was published by Moon City Press in 2013. His second full-length collection Field Study won the 2013 Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize and will be published in 2014 with Bona Fide Books. Mossotti is currently the Poet-in-Residence at the Endangered Wolf Center and a professor of Creative Writing at Lindenwood University Belleville, and his poetry has been published in recent issues of the Antioch Review, Southern Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, and elsewhere.Mark Jay Brewin, Jr.

Mark Jay Brewin, Jr., won the 2012 Agha Shahid Ali Prize in Poetry of the University of Utah Press for his first book manuscript, Scrap Iron. His poems have been published or are forthcoming in Beloit Poetry Journal, Antioch Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Hollins Critic, Copper Nickel, Southern Humanities Review, Poet Lore, North American Review, Greensboro Review, Prairie Schooner, and elsewhere. He is a graduate of the MFA program of Southern Illinois University-Carbondale.


Christine Sneed (fiction writer)

Christine Sneed Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6 p.m.
Elder Gallery, Vance D. Rogers Center for Fine Arts
Christine Sneed teaches creative writing at DePaul University and Northwestern University. Her story collection, Portraits of a Few of the People I've Made Cry, won AWP's 2009 Grace Paley Prize in Short Fiction and was a finalist for the Los Angeles Time Book Prize; her novel Little Known Facts was one of Booklist's top-ten debut novels of 2013 and won the 2013 Society of Midland Authors Award in adult fiction. Her third book, the novel In the Spring, will be published in May 2015 by Bloomsbury USA. Her short stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, Ploughshares, Southern Review, New England Review, and a number of other journals.


Past Visiting Writers

Year Writers
Fall 2014 David James Poissant
Travis Mossotti
Mark Jay Brewin, Jr.
Christine Sneed
Spring 2014 Trey Moody
Joshua Robbins
Mary Helen Stefaniak
Fall 2013 Tricia Currans-Sheehan
Jeanne Emmons
Kristi Maxwell
Bradford Tice
Laura van den Berg
Spring 2013 Charlotte Pence
Adam Prince
Oni Buchanan
Jon Woodward
John Walker
Fall 2012 Chun Ying Lin
Chi Tak Chan
Stephanie Ye
Lysley Tenorio
Caryl Pagel
Spring 2012 Jennifer S. Davis
Suzanne Buffam
Srikanth Reddy
David Philip Mullins
Fall 2011 Margaret Lazarus Dean
Hye-Kyung Lee
Yueran Zhang
Dorothy Tse
Susan Wheeler
Spring 2011 Jessica Savitz
Willy Vlautin
Fall 2010 Ed Roberson
Robert Wrigley
Meg Kearney
Spring 2010 Hannah Tinti
Arthur Smith
Fall 2009 John McManus
Marcia Douglas
Spring 2009 Mary Jo Bang
Brian Evenson
Sheila Heti
Gary Lutz
Fall 2008

Joanna Klink
Timothy Liu

Spring 2008 Chris Bachelder
William Henry Lewis
Selah Saterstrom
Ben Marcus
Fall 2007 Sawako Nakayasu
Erik Campbell
Graham Foust
Harryette Mullen
Christian Hawkey
Spring 2007 Josip Novakovich
Bapsi Sidhwa
Cary Holladay
Julie Orringer
Fall 2006 Jeffrey McDaniel
Robyn Schiff
Grace Bauer
Anthony Hawley
Spring 2006 Z.Z. Packer
Chris Offutt
Fall 2005 John D’Agata
Denise Duhamel
Dean Young