Distinguished Guests

Commencement Speaker

Cameron Munter has a long distinguished career as a member of the United States Foreign Service. He was the U.S. Ambassador to Pakistan (2010-12), following roles in Iraq, Serbia, Czech Republic and Poland. As Director of the Northern European Initiative and Chief of Staff in the NATO Enlargement Ratification Office, he assisted in the reintegration of independent Estonia into Western Europe. Munter currently serves as the visiting international relations professor at Pomona College, Calif. Nebraska Wesleyan will award him the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters.


Honorary Degrees

Alice Dittman served as president and CEO of Cornhusker Bank from 1975 to 1997. During that time, the bank's value grew from $8.5 to $147 million. In 2011, Dittman established the $1 million "Alice's Integrity Loan Fund" at the Lincoln Community Foundation to provide financial and educational support to budding entrepreneurs and small business owners. She also served on Nebraska Wesleyan’s Board of Governors and Board of Trustees in the late 1970s. She will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws.


Dr. Robert Jewett (’55) is a New Testament scholar and theologian devoted to serving the United Methodist Church. His teaching credits include Morningside College, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary/Northwestern University and University of Heidelberg, Germany. He served pastoral roles at congregations in Nebraska and Illinois. In 2013, he began teaching "Wesleyan Live" to Nebraska clergy and lay leaders. He is the Theologian-in-Residence at St. Mark’s United Methodist Church in Lincoln, Neb. He will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Sacred Theology.


Blaine Rieke (’55) served as Chairman and CEO of First Wisconsin Trust (now U.S. Bank) for 20 years until 1996. Today, he is a general partner at Chicago investment firm Huntington Partners. As a devoted alumnus, he served as the Chicago area alumni chapter president and on the Board of Trustees, Board of Governors, President's Board of Advisors and Archway Fund National Committee. He also established the Blaine and Linda Rieke Endowed Scholarship Fund. He will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws.